The Historic Sites Committee of the London Public Library Board identifies and marks historic buildings, places, and people of local significance. This Walking Guide provides brief histories of the 49 sites marked by the committee, 1970-2000. Where buildings have been subsequently demolished, the plaques have been re-mounted in the Ivey Family London Room at the Central Library, 251 Dundas Street. At the time of publication, a few plaques are missing from their sites, and the committee is working to replace them.

These brief histories are based on speeches given at plaque unveilings, and on research materials collected about each historic site. These materials are available in the Ivey Family London Room -- an excellent place to discover sources for the study of local history (as is the London Public Library website,

The first draft of the Walking Guide was compiled by Eric P. Sheppard while a student in the Public History Master of Arts Program, Department of History, University of Western Ontario (UWO). We acknowledge his hard work, and thank his supervisors, Professors Benjamin Forster and Jan Trimble, and his editorial assistant, David Larlee. The staffs of the University of Western Ontario Archives, and of the Ivey Family London
Room, assisted with research and historical photographs. Rob Turner of the D.B. Weldon Library, UWO, designed the map. Netta Brandon, Glen Curnoe, Vince Gray, Elizabeth Hill, Anita McCallum, Catherine B. McEwen, Bill McGrath, and Elizabeth Russell likewise gave invaluable assistance.

The final manuscript was edited by members of the Historic Sites Committee. This has been a collaborative effort and the Committee welcomes notice of any errors. The Walking Guide has been designed by Betty Lueddeke, the Library’s graphic artist. Funding for this project was provided by Landmarks London - Heritage and Museum Network ( Publication of the Guide fits with the mission of Landmarks London
to establish the City of London as a well known and highly valued destination for cultural and heritage tourism.

Since the original manuscript was prepared, the Committee has erected additional plaques. The histories of those sites will be included in the next edition of the Walking Guide, and will be available through the Historic Sites Committee link on the Library’s website.

The following were members of the Historic Sites Committee during the preparation of this booklet: Netta Brandon, Patricia Coderre, Barbara Graham, Peter Griffith, Gary Kerhoulas, George Kerhoulas, John Lutman, Alan MacEachern, Arthur McClelland, Anne McKillop, Mary Marshall, Margaret Mitchell, Hilary Bates Neary, Cliff Oliver, Elizabeth Russell, Sean Stoyles, and Jonathan Vance.